About us

We are Asexual, an official organization since January 15, 2020. This is a non-profit organization founded by and for asexuals in Belgium.

Prior

In October 2018, Martine Defoort decided that – after waiting 7 years – she could set up an association for asexuals in Belgium herself. Martine bought two domain names, created the website aseksueel.be, attended workshops for setting up a non-profit organization, set up a Meetup.com page and started meetings for asexuals in March 2019.

A get together for asexuals was organized every month. The first activities were organized in Ghent. At the start, only two asexuals were present at a time, but that number gradually increased.

In September 2019 Martine met new member Marleen. Marleen was immediately enthusiastic to help with the start-up of the non-profit organization. Marleen is co-founder of Asexual on January 15, 2020. Asexual vzw has its registered office in Ghent, but is an organisation active in every region in Belgium.

In the meantime, we also organize activities in Brussels. From August 2020 we will be organizing talks in Liège and Mons. Step by step we are expanding our activities all over Belgium.

Of course we take Covid-19 into account during these times. Since April 2020 we have been organizing online chats, both in Dutch and in French, on behalf of Covid-19 in order to maintain the connection with our members. We will continue to hold these chats in the post-Covid-19 period as they are very satisfactory.

We are currently working hard on creating multilingual leaflets and posters to prepare us for activities in the fall of 2020.

MISSION

The non-profit organization is there by and for asexuals.

Asexual vzw is an association for everyone in the asexual spectrum. We are active throughout Belgium. We are building a society where asexuals can out and express themselves so that they can be themselves in their sexuality. Asexual is an association that wants to be the point of contact for asexuals and their partners, wants to support them and offers them a platform to come together.

Our core activities are organizing activities and get togethers for asexuals, offering a listening ear for everyone who has questions about asexuality, informing and raising awareness. Asexual vzw is looking at possible collaborations with other LGBTQIA+ associations in Belgium.

VISION

Asexual vzw builds a society where asexuals feel free, are equal in their rights and opportunities, and are treated accordingly.

CORE VALUES

  • To connect
  • Represent
  • Collaborate
  • Raise awareness

Our goal is to connect and represent asexuals, collaborate with other LGBTQIA+ associations and make asexuality and awareness-raising in our society visible.

Sur nous

Nous sommes Asexual asbl, une organisation officielle depuis le 15 janvier 2020. Il s’agit d’une organisation à but non lucratif fondée par et pour les asexuels en Belgique.

Avant

En octobre 2018, Martine Defoort a décidé qu’après 7 ans d’attente, elle pouvait au mieux créer une association pour les asexuels en Belgique. Martine a acheté deux noms de domaine, créé les sites aseksueel.be et asexual.be, créé une page Meetup.com et lancé des rencontres pour les asexuels en mars 2019.

Une réunion était organisé chaque mois. Les premières activités ont été organisées à Gand. Au début, seuls deux asexuels étaient présents, mais ce nombre augmentait progressivement.

En septembre 2019, Martine a rencontré les membres Marleen et Hugo. Tous deux ont immédiatement été enthousiastes à l’idée d’aider au démarrage de l’organisation à but non lucratif. Marleen est co-fondatrice d’Asexual asbl depuis le 15 janvier 2020, Hugo travaille comme trésorier. Asexual asbl a son siège social à Gand mais est une organisation nationale à but non lucratif.

En attendant, nous organisons également des activités à Bruxelles. A partir d’août 2020 nous organisons des moments de conversation à Liège et Mons. Nous étendons progressivement nos activités dans toute la Belgique.

Bien sûr, à cette époque, nous prenons en compte Covid-19. Depuis avril, nous organisons des chats en ligne, en néerlandais et en français afin de maintenir la connexion avec nos membres. Nous continuerons à utiliser ces chats dans la période post-Covid-19 car ils sont très appréciés.

Nous travaillons actuellement d’arrache-pied pour créer des dépliants et des affiches multilingues pour nous préparer aux activités de l’automne 2020.

Mission

L’association à but non lucratif est pour et par les asexuels.

Asexual asbl est une association pour tous ceux qui sont dans le spectre asexuel. Nous sommes actifs dans toute la Belgique. Nous construisons une société où les asexuels peuvent s’exprimer pour être eux-mêmes dans leur sexualité. Asexual asbl est une association qui veut être le point de contact des asexuels et de leurs partenaires, les soutenir et leur offrir une plateforme pour se rassembler.

Nos activités principales consistent à organiser des activités et des moments de conversation pour les asexuels, offrant une oreille attentive à toute personne qui a des questions sur l’asexualité, à informer et à sensibiliser. Asexual asbl examine les collaborations possibles avec d’autres associations LGBTQIA+ en Belgique.

Vision

L’asbl Asexual construit une société dans laquelle les asexuels se sentent libres, sont égaux en droits et en opportunités et sont traités en conséquence.

VALEURS FONDAMENTALES

  • Se connecter
  • Représenter
  • Collaborer
  • Renforcer la sensibilisation

Notre objectif est de connecter et de représenter les asexuels, de coopérer avec d’autres associations LGBTQIA+ et de rendre visible l’asexualité et la sensibilisation dans notre société.